When you have been charged with assault, your life changes immediately. If you are ultimately convicted of this charge, you may face a variety of serious consequences. For this reason,
hiring an experienced Spokane Assault Attorney is essential.
Understanding Assault Charges
Assault is defined as an intentional act that causes another person to fear or suffer physical harm. Washington divides assault charges into four different categories based on severity, with first degree assault charges being the most serious and fourth degree assault charges being the least serious.
First Degree Assault
If law enforcement believes that you assaulted someone with a firearm or another type of deadly weapon in a way that was likely to cause death or serious injuries, you will be charged with first degree assault.
First degree assault is a class A felony. The potential sentence for a class A felony is life in prison and a maximum fine of $50,000.
Second Degree Assault
You may be charged with second degree assault if you are suspected of assaulting someone by strangulation, torturing someone to inflict pain, assaulting someone while attempting to commit a felony, administering poison, assaulting someone with a deadly weapon, causing harm to an unborn child or intentionally assaulting someone and inflicting serious bodily harm.
Second degree assault is a class B felony. The maximum sentence for a class B felony conviction is ten years in prison and/or a fine of up to $20,000.
Third Degree Assault
You may be charged with third degree assault if you assault a healthcare provider, assault a police officer, assault a firefighter, assault someone with a weapon with criminal negligence, assault a bus driver or driver of public transportation or commit assault while avoiding being taken into custody.
Third degree assault is a class C felony. The maximum sentence for a class C felony is five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Fourth Degree Assault
Any assault that is less serious than a third degree charge will be categorized as fourth degree assault. This charge is categorized as a gross misdemeanor. The maximum sentence for a gross misdemeanor in Washington is 364 days in jail and a fine of $5,000.
Contact an Assault Attorney in Spokane
If you have been charged with assault in Spokane, you need a trustworthy attorney on your side. Please contact Karen Lindholdt, PLLC today to schedule a consultation.